Press Releases

Regional Development Council Meets in Exmouth

The Gascoyne Development Commission  was privileged to host the Regional Development Council meeting on 23 & 24 November 2015 in Exmouth. The Regional Development Council is a key advisory body to the Western Australian Government on regional development issues and consists of the chairs from each of the nine Regional Development Commissions including; Wheatbelt, South West, Mid-West, Great Southern, Goldfields-Esperance, Pilbara, Kimberley, Peel and the Gascoyne Development Commission.

The Council’s function is to promote the development of the regions, develop policy proposals on development priorities and facilitate and promote liaison between government bodies (local, State and Commonwealth).

The Regional Development Council members arrived in Exmouth on 23 November and were hosted on an Exmouth tour by Turk Shales, Deputy Chair GDC and President of the Shire of Exmouth. The tour included visits to the Exmouth Boat Harbour, Town Centre, Vlamingh Head Lighthouse and Ningaloo Centre construction site. A Business After Hours event was held for invited Exmouth stakeholders and a dinner presentation by Quadrant Energy for the Regional Development Council later that evening.

The Regional Development Council Board Meeting was held on 24 November and included discussions on Royalties for Regions, Regional Development Reform, Good to Great Schools initiative, Regional Centre Development Plan and State Wide Aging in the Bush initiative.

The Council’s visit provided a great opportunity for the GDC to showcase the Gascoyne region and its growth potential. The GDC was delighted with the positive discussions held and optimistic that the opportunities available in the Gascoyne are well recognised and understood by the Regional Development Council, a key and influential group for regional Western Australia.

Regional Development Council Members


From left to right: Ralph Addis (Director General, Department of Regional Development), Tony Beard (Chair, Gascoyne Development Commission), Tim Shackleton [Chairman] (Chair, Wheatbelt Development Commission), Murray Criddle (Chair, Mid West Development Commission), Chris Gilmour (Chair, Pilbara Development Commission), Peter Rundle (Chair, Great Southern Development Commission), Michael McConachy (Chair, Kimberley Development Commission), Paul Fitzpatrick (Chair, Peel Development Commission) and Stuart Hicks (A/Chair, South West Development Commission). Absent: Tony Crook (Chair, Goldfields-Esperance Development Commission.