20150915_CCC-Marmion-StThe region’s schools are dynamic and family focussed with education and training opportunities in each of the Carnarvon, Exmouth, Shark Bay and Upper Gascoyne local government areas.

Government primary school facilities catering for Kindergarten to Year 7 are located in Exmouth, Shark Bay, Carnarvon, Gascoyne Junction, Burringurrah Aboriginal Community and Useless Loop.

Secondary school facilities are located in Carnarvon and Exmouth; however schools in all the communities provide Year 8-12 opportunities for local students through the School of Isolated and Distance Education.

Information on these schools can be found through the Department of Education’s Schools Online service.

Carnarvon also offers private school opportunities for students from Kindergarten to Year 10 at St Mary Star of the Sea Catholic School, Year 11 and 12 at Nagle Catholic College and from Kindergarten to Year 7 at the Carnarvon Christian School.

Carnarvon School of the Air delivers education services for primary students via radio to the remote areas of the Gascoyne. Carnarvon School of the Air operates under the umbrella of the Schools of Isolated and Distance Education.

Durack Institute of Technology has campuses located in Carnarvon and Exmouth and offers a variety of academic and community courses. The Durack campus also services other areas of the region by providing off-campus courses for students studying in these areas.